Description of the ride:
This Jesuit Mission was founded in 1610 in Guayrá, by Fathers José Cataldino and Simón Masseta, and in 1655 as a result of the invasions of the Mamluks he moved to Paranaimá; In May 1695 she was again transferred to the current place. It was called San Ignacio Miní to distinguish it from that of San Ignacio Guazú founded previously.
In its peak period, this Mission had more than 3,300 inhabitants and its close relationship with the Paraná River allowed it to maintain a constant exchange with the other reductions.
Jesuit ruins San Ignacio
San Ignacio Ruins
At present it is maintained in a better state of conservation thanks to important restoration work that was carried out in it.
The Jesuit Ruins of the Mission of San Ignacio Miní were declared World Heritage by UNESCO in 1984. Completing the set of ruins and as a support is the center of interpretation of the Jesuit-Guarani culture.